The legislative authority of the canton Grisons is the parliament known as the "Grosse Rat". This is made up of 120 members who are elected by voters in 39 voting districts in a majority system vote for a term of office of four years.
The cantonal parliament is structured in political fractions. At least five members of parliament must join together to create a fraction.
In the current legislation period (2018-2022) the parliament is made up of the following fractions:

  • Liberal Democratic Party (FDP)                     36 members
  • Catholic-Democratic People's Party (CVP)    30 members
  • Conservative Democratic Party  (BDP)          23 members
  • Social Democratic Party (SP)                        19 members
  • Swiss People's Party (SVP)                            9 members           

Three members of parliament do not belong to any fraction.

Grafische Darstellung der Stärke der Fraktionen 

The cantonal parliament meets six times each year for a session which usually lasts for three days. The proceedings are open to the public and can be observed from public seats.
The cantonal constitution assigns the parliament with the following tasks, among others:

  • As legislative authority and with reservation regarding the powers of the electors it is the highest political power in the canton and the highest supervisory authority.

  • It handles and adopts all changes to the constitution and legislation.
  • Among others it elects the members of its agencies and commissions, the president of government and members of the cantonal and administrative courts.